“The journey isn’t always perfect, but always worth taking.”

Hello to my people on the interwebs! (If I actually have any people…haha)

I know you were all so devastated to not be able to read about my life and training yesterday, but it was simply just an overwhelming day with so much to do! No worries I will update you about Monday and Tuesday today!

Monday was my rest day but I had a soccer game, so I still got some exercise! I also got to go have a delicious dinner with a good friend Erin and her little family! We lost our soccer game and it was our first loss (by one point) of this season but we play for fun so it was fineeee…well I say that because they made me play goalie the second half and I haven’t really played goalie since high school so saying it was fine makes me feel better about the 3 goals I let in! 

Yesterday was absurd. Had a doctor’s appointment and was so busy at work that we did not get to take our “lunch break” until 4pm! The life in the lab…experiments wait for no one! Then I went and visited one of my best friends Ashley, and her family which includes a new born baby! I am obsessed with children so I may talk about them often on here even though it has nothing to do with running…lol Then I went to Grammys for dinner and then after some time headed to the track with my brothers Arthur and Josh, along with a family friend Nathan. 

Once again, I cannot say enough how blessed I am to have so many people in my life that are being so supportive of my endeavor. I know that a lot of people look at me like I am out of my mind when I tell them that I am training for a half marathon, but that is okay. The people that I have on my side and who are there for me with training, advice, or anything I could possibly need are all that matters! 

I AM ECSTATIC TO ANNOUNCE THAT I RAN MY ENTIRE 2 MILES WITHOUT A SINGLE CRAMP! I did a mixture of things all day and during my run so I cannot pin point what exactly did the trick but it was wonderful! It is a whole different world to run without feeling like your insides are going to be ripped out from your torso….! I sure hope this wasn’t a fluke and I can get through today with out them as well! 

I think I can say that I am actually, kind of, in the slightest bit starting to enjoy running. I mean I look forward to my runs because I am excited to be a part of such a great thing…but yesterday was the first time I didn’t want to kill myself while I was running! I took a slow and steady pace for my 2 miles and my not so little brother Josh ran right along side me. the whole time telling me what kind of cross training and eating habits I should start to do. He also made me pick up my pace for the last lap and made me run as fast as i could go for the last 200 m. I almost vomed…and just when I thought I was done…he made me do 5 sprints! I really appreciate it now though..that is not something that I would just up and do on my own! My brothers are really just simply the best! 

Tonight on the schedule is a 20 minute run…but I am going for my “buddy run” so I am not sure what we will do. I cannot believe how great of an organization Team in Training is! We have team runs on Saturday and there is a buddy run offered nearly every day of the week. We get weekly emails filled with resources and motivation and there are people literally willing to help you with anything and everything! This will be my first buddy run and according to the email only one other woman is going to be there besides the mentor or whatever running pro is going to be there to help us! I am once again looking forward to my run! I am so pleased with how much I am enjoying what I am doing! 

Well the running front has been going great, but I really need to kick it into gear with the fundraising. I think the end of this week and weekend is when I am going to start my fundraising full throttle! I am not sure if it was doubt I had in myself or the fear of others doubting me (since some fam has already stated so rudely that I cannot do it and they will not donate towards my cause) but I think I am slowly buiding up my runner’s confidence to start. 

Well thanks for reading and again, if you would like to support me in my endeavors to raise money for blood cancer research I would be honored! 

My page can be found here! http://pages.teamintraining.org/noh/nikesf13/tmasonhslp

Have a great rest of the day!

Leave a Reply

