The beginning…

Image

Hello Everyone! This is my first time to the blog world, but I figured that it is truly a great way to force myself to stick to my training and keep myself accountable! I guess I should start off with a little background info for those of you who may not know me well or at all…Not that I assume many people will be reading this lol 

My name is Tegan and I am 23 years old. I have been very active in sports since I was just a little girl. In high school I participated in soccer, basketball, softball and track (as a thrower). In college I fell in love with the sport of rowing. I was on Ohio University Women’s Crew team for 3 years. Now I would never have classified myself as thin, but looking back at pictures from high school I would give anything to have that body back instantaneously! Once I quit rowing and no longer had a sport that required me to stay fit and active, I had quite a bit of weight gain. Don’t get me wrong, I think that I am a beautiful curvy woman…but my life needs to be more active! I have participated in one biggest loser challenge where I lost about 25 lbs. I am currently involved in a second one where I have not been doing so hot due to lack of dedication. I plan to use this blog and my cause as my driving factor from now on! 

Weigh in day of my second BLC (biggest loser challenge) I came home pumped and ready to start. On the table waiting for me was a pamphlet from the Leukemia and Lymphoma society. At first, I was terrified. I had gotten swabbed in college during one of our philanthropic events we put on as a team, and thought for sure I was found to be a bone marrow match for someone. After mustering up the courage to open the letter I instead found a brochure from Team in Training. That day has now forever changed my life. 

I have always been into helping out others. In 2010 I went on the most extraordinary mission trip to Honduras with the organization Montana de Luz. This amazing place is a home to many children affected/infected with HIV/AIDS. The time I spent there opened my eyes to a whole new world. Since then, and especially since graduating college I have found myself craving another life changing event. I have also tried to become a more religious/spiritual person and try to accept signs or paths that are put in front of me. Seeing as how Team in Training is a team that trains you to run/walk half/full marathons or participate in triathlons all for the good cause of finding the cure for cancer…I saw this as the perfect sign that it was meant for me since I opened it on that first day of weigh in! 

So I guess I should now go into my plan? Well, I have signed up for the Nike Women’s Half Marathon in San Francisco which is being held on October 20th, 2013. Besides the obvious plan to run, I also have a goal set to raise $5,000 for blood cancer research. I plan to blog every day M-F and if time permits on the weekend as well. It may only be a fact about blood cancer research or LLS,  how my run went that day, or simply something that I found motivating. Since this is my first blog experience…I’m not really too sure! haha Now I am probably the farthest thing from a runner…and to be quite honest I have already had family members tell me that they think I will fail or that I am too fat to do such an event..but to be completely honest….I DON’T CARE! I will succeed. If there are people out there that can have their lives turned upside down by finding out that they have that dreadful C word and start fighting for their lives, then I surely can raise some money and get in shape for them! POSITIVITY IS KEY! When someone tells me that I will not succeed, I add them to the list of people I need to prove wrong. When I feel that I can’t I need to think of people worse of than me and know that I can! 

I don’t want to get too far ahead of myself on my first entry but I will leave you with a statement from the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society:

“Someday we will cure cancer. For over 60 years we have been fighting for that day. Our mission is a world without blood cancer. Join us. TODAY WE CHANGE THE WORLD!” 

I am ready to start my endeavor to do my part to try change the world. If you are interested in joining Team in training or want to know more information go to teamintraining.org. 

If you would like to donate towards the cause and sponsor me on my run, you can find my fundraising website here: http://pages.teamintraining.org/noh/nikesf13/tmasonhslp

Any and all contributions will be greatly appreciated!  

2 thoughts on “The beginning…

Leave a Reply

